School Board

Holy Cross School is based on an educational philosophy in which faith, culture and life are brought into harmony.  The school provides excellence in education along with a foundation in Christian values.  The school is a shining tribute to God serving the families of South Bend since 1929. In partnership with our parents, we are committed to the education of the whole child, academically, spiritually, socially, emotionally, artistically, and physically.

Inspired by the ministry of Jesus, Holy Cross provides an education that stresses the importance of compassion, personal responsibility, acceptance of diversity, and respect for ourselves and others.

The Holy Cross School Board serves in an advisory capacity to the pastor and principal on matters related to the school.  School board members are appointed by the pastor in consultation with the school board, most especially the board chair and the school principal.  Board members include parents, parishioners, school alums and community leaders who are committed to the ongoing development of Holy Cross School as a place of educational excellence and growth in Christian values.

Meetings are held on the second Tuesday of each month during the academic year, and are open to all interested parties.  The school board is made up of sub-committees that focus on:  Budget Operations & Fundraising, Development & Capital Improvement, Catholic Identity, Marketing & Enrollment, and Policy & Procedure.

School Board members 2019-2020:

Annie Borjas – Principal Deb Hudak                                                 Dulce Curry
Fr. Jim Fenstermaker, C.S.C. – Pastor Michael Jaskiewicz                                  Chante Mouton Kinyon
Michael Griffin – President Brian Fremeau                                          Katy Lichon
Stacey Ball (HASA) Brother Roy Smith, C.S.C.                      Deacon John Tugman

For further information on the philosophy and mission of Holy Cross School 

For more information contact Katy Lichon @

or Father Jim Fenstermaker @