Parish Pastoral Council

“Participators in the function of Christ, priest, prophet, and king, the laity have an active part of their own in the life and action of the Church.  Their action within the Church communities is so necessary that without it the apostolate of the pastors will frequently be unable to obtain its full effect.”  Decree on the Apostolate of the Laity

The guidelines of the Diocese of Fort Wayne-South Bend state that the Parish Pastoral Council should help the pastor develop a “mission focused” parish.  The Council advises and assists the pastor and the pastoral team in visioning for the future through pastoral planning as well as in reviewing, evaluating and providing leadership for the ministries, programs and activities of the parish.  Membership on the Council consists of the pastor, associate pastor, and parishioners chosen through a process of discernment and selection by the parish community.

The council focuses on five key areas of ministry in the parish: School, Hospitality, Social Justice, Communications, and Evangelization.  Each council member belongs to one of the committees that oversees these areas of parish life.  The council periodically discusses the ongoing evaluation and planning of these committee as they seek to further develop the life of our parish community.

Members usually serve three-year terms.  Any member of the parish is encouraged to contact a member of the Parish Pastoral Council with any input, observations, comments, or suggestions regarding the life of the parish.

Pastoral Council Members 2022-2023:

Frank Agostino Ricky Klee Mike Urbaniak, Chairperson
Brian Dolezal Angelo Martinez Aurelia Wishart
Fr. Jim Fenstermaker, C.S.C. Rachel Parroquin
Marge Gloster Iona Popa
Patrick Hess Terri Scott